Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do others find younger audiences more discerning?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do others find younger audiences more discerning?

Hey everyone. Big fan of your channel Andrew, and wanted to offer a massive thank you for the content you put up to help other indies!

My band launched our first single on Friday. I am a complete novice at marketing/branding, but I've spent the whole pre release doing as much research as I can. We're a rock group, and our music is kinda inspired by 90's/2000's festival pop/punk bands, with a bit more of an edge. (Green day would be a closeish parallel) For our first campaign, I set a budget of $100 a day for the first 3 days, and to taper down over the next 2 weeks. I made ad sets with 5 different types of ads

14 secconds of the songs chorus, high quality multicam footage of us playing live
    14 secconds of the guitar solo, high quality footage of us playing live
    14 secconds of the guitar solo with TXT announcing the band name/song name
    7 secconds song intro, video clip
    7 secconds of the intro, album artwork

(Currency has been adjusted to read USD)
    For my initial campaign, I targeted EUR, AUS, USA and South America, broad age range, with an interest in rock music/spotify. This ran for 36 hours and was performing to my satisfaction, our cost was 0.20 per conversion, we had 879 conversions, gained approx 20 facebook followers, and as a bonus charted number 19 on the Australian independent music charts (called Triple J Unearthed) However 56% of our reach were people over the age of 55, and like 40% people 35-54. Many who liked our posts were not native english speakers, and made me worry that we we're reaching mostly elders who didn't properly know how to operate their facebook and were just clicking on every single post.